The Ternary Operator

The Ternary Operator

ยท

2 min read

๐Ÿ‘‹ HELLO DEVELOPERS!

This Blog Post is about the Ternary Operator in JS, C++, C, C#, Java, etc.

So, if you don't know, my name is Usman and I am a learner. Now let's start!

๐Ÿšจ A Ternary Operator is an operator that makes a decision based on what condition you pass in. It is simply an if else. But shorter

The Syntax is something like this:

CONDITION ? result_if_true : result_if_false

The process is as follows:

  1. You define your condition like name === 'Usman' or something else just like you pass inside of if.
  2. If the condition you passed in is true or correct, result_if_true will be returned.
  3. If it is false or incorrect, result_if_false will be returned.

Example

var company = "Google";
if (company === "Google") 
    console.log("READY TO WORK!");
else
  console.log("I WILL ONLY WORK AT GOOGLE.");

๐Ÿ‘† This is the standard if else. You can transform this into a one-liner code.

As I told that result_if_true or result_if_false will be returned, so we will have to store the ternary expression in a variable or in a console.log().

So here, the CONDITION is company === "Google" and if it is true, we should return "READY TO WORK!", else we should return "I WILL ONLY WORK AT GOOGLE.".

So the code will be:

// CONDITION ? result_if_true : result_if_false
console.log(
  company === "Google" ? "READY TO WORK!" : "I WILL ONLY WORK AT GOOGLE."
);

OR

var myDecision = company === "Google" ? "READY TO WORK!" : "I WILL ONLY WORK AT GOOGLE.";
console.log(myDecision);

If the company is set to "Google", we will get the output "READY TO WORK!". Else, we will get "I WILL ONLY WORK AT GOOGLE.".

I hope you understood the Ternary Operator clearly. If yes, then it would be nice if you solve this simple CHALLENGE.

I also have a video on my channel about the Ternary Operator

If you have any suggestions or feedback. Please let me know in the comments. Happy Coding!

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Usman Sabuwala by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!